Medicare Part A

Before you enroll in Medicare, it’s important to understand the coverage provided by each part of Medicare. There four parts of Medicare include Part A, Part B, Part C, and Part D.

Parts of Medicare

Medicare Part A

Medicare Part A is considered the hospital insurance policy of Medicare, and is also the first part of Original Medicare. If you combine your Part A coverage with Part B, you will then have both parts of Original Medicare.

Part A will not cover long-term or custodial care. It also will not provide coverage for dental, vision, or hearing services.

When Can I Enroll in Part A?

For those who are receiving Social Security benefits, enrollment in Part A is done automatically. If you are not automatically enrolled, then you can enroll during your Initial Enrollment Period, which will start three months before you turn 65. This period will then last up to three months after your 65th birthday month, giving you a 7-month period to enroll. 

Medicare Part A will also generally not cost anything. If you worked for ten years and paid Medicare taxes, you will receive premium-free Part A. If you have not worked and paid taxes for at least ten years, you will have to pay a monthly premium.

Want to Learn More?
Give Us a Call

At Magellan Healthcare, we understand how important it is for you to learn about the different parts of Medicare, especially when you first become eligible. That’s why we’re here to help. Our ultimate goal is to provide you with as much information as possible so you stay informed on all parts of Medicare and know which coverage meets your needs best. If you’re ready to learn more about Medicare Part A, give us a call today!